Visit Visa

Visit Visa

A Temporary Resident Visa Allows Foreign Nationals To Come/Enter into Canada.

  • Generally, visitors need a valid passport that will not expire until they leave Canada.
  • Also, visitors will need to apply for a visa to travel to Canada, unless they are from a visa exempt country.
  • Canada does not pay for hospital or medical services for visitors, visitors therefore should purchase medical/ travel insurance prior to arrival.
  • If visitors want to stay longer, they must apply to extend their temporary resident status before their status expires.


Temporary residents and visitor visa extension

Foreign national whose visitor permit in Canada is about to expire must apply for extension 30 days prior to the expiry date of his visa. Contact us now for more information.

Temporary residents are people who come to Canada for a limited time to visit, work or study. Not sure about what you need.

How to extend a visitor permit (visa)

A foreign national whose visitor permit in Canada is about to expire must apply for extension 30 days prior to the expiry date of his visa.

Application to Change Conditions or Extend Your Stay in Canada as a Visitor

This application includes the following items:

This application is for temporary residents who are already in Canada as visitors and wish to:

  • Extend their stay;
  • Change the conditions of their stay; or
  • Correct/Amend problems with their status.

Usually, individuals cannot come to Canada as visitors and convert their visitor visa into a work permit. They will likely have to apply for a wok permit from outside Canada.

Canada Travel Visa

A travel visa is required for people of specific countries who come to Canada for a limited time to visit. Under the travel visa, visitors become temporary Canadian residents. Contact us for more information.

Travel visa requirements

  • Visitors must satisfy an immigration officer that they are real visitors who intend to leave Canada at the end of their visit.
  • For example, they can show that they have strong ties to their home country (such as family, work and property).
  • Visitors should have a credible reason for wanting to visit Canada.
  • CIC may not believe that a person is a genuine visitor if the person has strong ties to family in Canada and no family in their country.
  • Visitors must be able to show that they can and will support themselves and their accompanying family members without working while in Canada.
  • Visitors must also show that they are able and willing to leave Canada at the end of their visit (valid passport, return ticket).


How to apply?

This application includes the following items:


Do you need a travel visa to visit Canada?

The following list of countries and territories require a visa in order to enter Canada;

Countries and territories whose citizens require visas in order to enter Canada as visitors

Citizens of the following countries and territories require a Visa to VISIT or TRANSIT Canada:


  • Afghanistan
  • Albania
  • Algeria
  • Angola
  • Argentina
  • Armenia
  • Azerbaijan


  • Bahrain
  • Bangladesh
  • Belarus
  • Belize
  • Benin
  • Bhutan
  • Bolivia
  • Bosnia-Herzegovina
  • Brazil
  • Bulgaria
  • Burkina Faso
  • Burundi


  • Cambodia
  • Republic of Cameroon
  • Cape Verde
  • Central African Republic
  • Chad
  • Chile
  • China
  • People’s Republic of Colombia
  • Comoros
  • Congo, Democratic
  • Republic of the Congo
  • Republic of the Costa Rica
  • Cuba
  • Czech Republic


  • Djibouti
  • Dominica
  • Dominican Republic


  • East Timor
  • Ecuador
  • Egypt
  • El Salvador
  • Equatorial Guinea
  • Eritrea
  • Ethiopia


  • Fiji


  • Gabon
  • Gambia
  • Georgia
  • Ghana
  • Grenada
  • Guatemala
  • Guinea
  • Guinea-Bissau
  • Guyana


  • Haiti
  • Honduras


  • India
  • Indonesia
  • Iran
  • Iraq
  • Israel (only Israeli citizens holding valid Israeli “Travel Document in lieu of National Passport”)
  • Ivory Coast


  • Jamaica
  • Jordan


  • Kazakhstan
  • Kenya
  • Kiribati
  • Korea, North
  • Kosovo
  • Kuwait
  • Kyrgyzstan


  • Laos
  • Lebanon
  • Lesotho
  • Liberia
  • Libya
  • Lithuania (holders of non-biometric passports only)


  • Macao S.A.R.
  • Macedonia
  • Madagascar
  • Malawi
  • Malaysia
  • Maldives Islands
  • Mali
  • Marshall Islands
  • Mauritania
  • Mauritius
  • Mexico
  • Micronesia, Fed. States
  • Moldova
  • Mongolia
  • Montenegro
  • Morocco
  • Mozambique
  • Myanmar (Burma)


  • Nauru
  • Nepal
  • Nicaragua
  • Niger
  • Nigeria


  • Oman


  • Pakistan
  • Palau
  • Palestinian Authority
  • Panama
  • Paraguay
  • Peru
  • Philippines
  • Poland (holders of non-biometric passports only)


  • Qatar


  • Romania
  • Russia
  • Rwanda


  • Sao Tomé e Principe
  • Saudi Arabia, Kingdom of
  • Senegal
  • Serbia
  • Seychelles
  • Sierra Leone
  • Somalia
  • South Africa
  • South Sudan
  • Sri Lanka
  • Sudan
  • Surinam
  • Syria


  • Taiwan (except holders of the ordinary passport issued by the Ministry of Foreign Affairs in Taiwan that includes their personal identification number)
  • Tajikistan
  • Tanzania
  • Thailand
  • Togo
  • Tonga
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • Tunisia
  • Turkey
  • Turkmenistan
  • Tuvalu


  • Uganda
  • Ukraine
  • United Arab Emirates
  • Uruguay
  • Uzbekistan


  • Vanuatu
  • Venezuela
  • Vietnam


  • Yemen


  • Zambia
  • Zimbabwe